How Long Do I Have To File A Claim?

//How Long Do I Have To File A Claim?
How Long Do I Have To File A Claim? 2017-02-23T18:55:08+00:00

The rules vary drastically from state to state so it is important to know the information for your state after a car accident. Each state has its own statute of limitations which is the state law regarding how long you have to file a lawsuit. The statute of limitations is what will determine how long you have to file a car accident claim.  This is typically between 2-3 years but can vary depending on the state where your accident occurred.

What if you wait too long? Your pretty much out of luck. The court will not hear your case and you won’t receive any compensation for your injuries. These dates also touch on filing claims which we’ve mentioned in the past it is critical to do as quickly as possible after your accident.

See a state by state breakdown below to know when your last day to file is:

State                          Time Limitation
Alabama                  2 years
Alaska                      2 years
Arizona                    2 years
Arkansas                 3 years
California                2 years
Colorado                  2 years
Connecticut             3 years
Delaware                 2 years
DC                            3 years
Florida                      4 years
Georgia                    2 years
Hawaii                      2 years
Idaho                        2 years
Illinois                      2 years
Indiana                     2 years
Iowa                          2 years
Kansas                      2 years
Kentucky                  1 year
Louisiana                 1 year
Maine                       6 years
Maryland                 3 years
Massachusetts        3 years
Michigan                  3 years
Minnesota                6 years
Mississippi               3 years
Missouri                    5 years
Montana                   3 years
Nebraska                   4 years
Nevada                       2 years
New Hampshire      3 years
New Jersey               2 years
New Mexico              3 years
New York                   3 years
North Carolina         3 years
North Dakota           6 years
Ohio                           2 years
Oklahoma                 2 years
Oregon                      10 years
Pennsylvania            2 years
Rhode Island            3 years
South Carolina         3 years
South Dakota           3 years
Tennessee                 1 year
Texas                         2 years
Utah                          4 years
Vermont                   3 years
Virginia                    2 years
Washington             3 years
West Virginia          2 years
Wisconsin                3 years
Wyoming                 4 years

See also our list of no fault states.