How Much is the Average Colorado Car Accident Settlement?
Colorado is a stunning state with so much to see and do. And while most Colorado drivers do not have “car accident” on their to-do list, it does happen. If you are unfortunate enough to be in a car accident in Colorado, you should know what to expect afterwards. If you’ve been in a car accident, you may be wondering how much your settlement will be. Here’s what you need to know about the average car accident settlement in Colorado. It is important to understand some Colorado auto accident laws, insurance requirements, and steps to take following a car accident in Colorado.
- How Much Is Your Car Accident Settlement Worth?
Find out the maximum compensation you could receive.
- How Much Is My Car Accident Settlement Worth?
With our help, you will know more about what insurance Colorado drivers must carry, what to do immediately after an accident to ensure a fair Colorado car accident settlement, and more.
What To Do If I Get In A Car Accident In Colorado
If you are in a car accident in Colorado, below are the steps you should take:
- Document the accident. This includes getting the time and date of the incident. You should request the other drivers’ information. This includes drivers’ license numbers, plate numbers, and contact information.
- Document the scene of the accident. You should take photos of damage to all vehicles, the position of each, the intersection, traffic lights, stop signs, and skid marks. Also write down how the crash happened, what happened after the accident, anything the driver said, and details before the accident.
- Call the police or 911. The police should arrive and take a police report. When you talk to the police, just focus on what happened. Don’t speculate or admit fault. Never give an opinion on anything and just stick to factual information.
- Get medical attention. You need to have a doctor check you over whether you think you have injuries or not. If you skip medical treatment, you may end up displaying injuries days later. But at this point, the insurance company will deny your claim.
- Call your insurance company and report the accident. Don’t talk to the other insurance company unless your lawyer is present.
Whatever you do, always remember one thing. Do not leave the car accident scene without giving your contact info to the other driver. If you do leave, you could face hit and run charges.
Car Accident Settlements In Colorado
There are many things that will determine what the average car accident settlement is in Colorado. For instance, what is ‘average’ in this state could be different than what is average in Arizona. This is because the laws are very different. But it can help to learn about average settlement amounts.
In Colorado, the average car accident settlement is about 1.5 times of your total financial losses. You have the right in this state to recover all of your financial losses plus funds for your pain and suffering.
If you have serious injuries that involve a hospital stay or surgery, you may get more money than average for pain and suffering. But if there are questions about liability and you did not have as much pain and suffering, the amount you receive could be less.
Some data from Colorado suggests that a typical auto accident settlement is around $15,000-$20,000 when there are injuries. Alternatively, you could expect about $3,000 for property damage only. There are a few cases with grave injuries that settle for millions of dollars. However, the vast majority settle for much less.
The part of the case that varies the most is the pain and suffering portion. Typically, the insurance company will argue your pain and suffering is less, but your attorney’s job is to argue it’s much more. A skilled attorney can reach a fair car accident settlement agreement with the insurance company. They will get you enough pain and suffering money to help with your recovery.
What Factors Affect My Settlement Amount?
There are several factors that affect your Colorado car accident settlement amount, including:
– The severity of your injuries
– Your age
– The extent of property damage
– Who was at fault for the accident
– Whether you have pre-existing conditions
– Your insurance policy limits
– Your state’s laws
How is Pain & Suffering Calculated in Colorado Car Accident Settlements?
Pain and suffering is often one of the largest components of a car accident settlement in Colorado. This includes both physical pain and emotional anguish. In order to calculate pain and suffering, insurance companies often use a multiplier. They’ll take your total medical bills and multiply it by a number between 1.5 and 5, depending on the severity of your injuries. So, if you have $10,000 in medical bills and a multiplier of 2, your pain and suffering damages would be $20,000.
Colorado Car Accident Settlement Calculator:
Have you been involved in a motor vehicle accident or otherwise injured in Colorado? Find out how much financial compensation you may be legally entitled to in just minutes with our free online Car Accident Settlement Calculator.
Colorado Auto Accident Laws: Auto Insurance Requirements
All drivers in Colorado must have liability insurance. Liability insurance is for bodily injury to another party. It also covers property damage when you are at fault for an accident. You must have these minimum coverages in this state:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death per incident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
Is Colorado A No-Fault State For Car Accidents?
Colorado was a no-fault state for car accidents until 2003. But now, you must file a claim with the liable driver’s insurance company. This should ensure you have your injuries and damages covered.
If the other driver has little or no insurance, you can use your own underinsured or uninsured coverage to pay for your damages and car accident related injuries.
The Colorado Auto Accident Reparations Act updated the law.
Colorado Auto Accident Laws: Comparative Negligence
When you are in a car accident, it’s very important to determine who was at fault. It makes a difference for insurance and lawsuit purposes. This state uses a comparative negligence standard. That means that your settlement reduces according to your percentage of blame for an accident.
For example, say you have $10,000 in damages. However, the insurance company finds you to be 40% at fault. So, your settlement would be only $6,000. That is why it’s vital that you choose a skilled car accident attorney to fight for you. Your attorney will try to reduce the amount of blame you get for the accident. In turn, you get a larger settlement or award.
If determined to be more than 50% responsible for the accident, you will not receive a car accident settlement in Colorado.
Joint liability also applies in this state. This means if there is more than one defendant in a car accident case, the 50% rule applies. But the relative negligence of the injured person measures against all defendants, not each individually.
For instance, the first defendant is 70% liable, the second is 10% liable, and you are 20% liable. If so, you would still get damages, even though your level of liability is more than the second defendant.
- Speak to a Car Accident Attorney
- Fast, Free & Confidential!
The doctrine of Last Clear Chance also applies in Colorado. This scenario applies if the injured party was partially at fault but the defendant still had a chance to avoid the crash. In that case, the injured person can still recover damages.
For instance, a pedestrian doesn’t look before he crosses the street but the driver who hit him had time to avoid the crash. The driver could still be liable for the pedestrian’s injuries.
How Long Do You Have To Report A Car Accident For Insurance In Colorado?
There is no time limit for reporting a car accident to your insurance company, but it helps if you do so as soon as you can.
The first thing to do after the accident is to call the police and get medical attention. After addressing those things, you should call your insurance company.
If the police do not show up at the car accident scene in Colorado, you should provide your contact and insurance information to the other driver. Then, to be safe, it is a good idea to go to the closest police station and file a police report.
It can help your claim if you have a police report on file. Also, it protects you if the other driver decides to say it was a hit and run accident.
Colorado Auto Accident Laws: Statute Of Limitations
You have three years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit in Colorado. If someone dies in the crash, you also have three years from the date of death to file.
You will want to file a car accident claim with your insurance company as soon as possible. However, it is better to discuss this timeline with an attorney. Filing as promptly as possible will help protect your rights. You want to stay well within the three year window to give you adequate time to try to reach a settlement. If negotiations don’t result in a settlement, you are still able to file a lawsuit.
Can I Sue for Property Damage after a Colorado Car Accident?
Yes. You can sue for both property damage and personal injury after a car accident. However, it’s important to note that most states have a “tort” system when it comes to car accidents. This means that only one driver can be held responsible for paying damages. So, if the other driver was at fault for the accident, you would sue their insurance company for any damages incurred. If you were found to be at fault for the accident, then your own insurance company would pay for any property damage claims filed against you up to your policy limits.
Pain and suffering is often one of the largest components of a Colorado car accident settlement and is calculated using a multiplier that takes into account your total medical bills and the severity of your injuries. You can sue for both property damage and personal injury after a car accident; however, most states have a “tort” system when it comes to car accidents, which means only one driver can be held responsible for paying damages.
Parking Lot Accident Laws In Colorado
Accidents in parking lots are common in Colorado. Here are some common scenarios and how the laws apply in this state should you find yourself needing to get a parking lot accident settlement:
- Fault when driver backs out of space and hits car going down parking lane. In this situation, fault is generally with the driver who is backing out of the space. The car coming down the lane has the right of way, unless the driver in the lane is driving above the speed limit.
- Fault when driver moves forward and hits a vehicle going down the parking lane. These crashes are usually on the driver pulling forward.
- Fault when the car is backing up. The car backing up should yield to vehicles driving behind them.
- Speak to a Car Accident Attorney
- Fast, Free & Confidential!
Get Legal Help With Colorado Car Accident Settlements
If you are in a car crash, it is highly upsetting and stressful. But you will be more prepared with all the information on this page about Colorado car accident laws. Here are some additional links:
Please remember, if you are in a Colorado auto accident, you should stay at the crash scene until law enforcement arrives. Importantly, always seek medical attention immediately. You also should get in touch with your auto insurance company as soon as possible. Hire an attorney unless it is a minor car accident settlement without injuries.
If you do get in a car accident in Colorado, Lawsuit Info Center can help you find a skilled attorney in your area. You may be eligible for compensation for your medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost earnings. Please use this website to locate a personal injury attorney to help you with your claim or lawsuit.
What Percentage of Car Accidents Settle for More Than the Victim’s Actual Damages? Car accidents are, unfortunately, a part of life. In the United States, a crash occurs every 6 minutes. Many of these accidents result in injuries and death. In 2020, 4.8 million people...
It can be hard to deal with the aftermath of a car accident, and sometimes dealing with the insurance adjusters can seem like a friend who’s there to help guide you through a tough time. However, it’s important to remember that insurance companies are for profit...
This article will give you some helpful tips when speaking to a claims adjuster for your auto accident if you don’t have an attorney in your corner doing the talking for you. In most cases, hiring an attorney for your car accident is a good idea. However in simple...
"How can I find a car accident lawyer near me?" If you're trying to navigate the car accident settlement process, this is a very important question. Hiring a lawyer is the best way to make sure you receive the full compensation you deserve. While it is important that...
Punitive Damages for Car Accidents – All 50 States Can you recover punitive damages for your car accident? Here is a list of the punitive damages laws for car accidents in all 50 states. When you are injured in a car accident that is someone else’s fault, you are...
Partial Fault in Car Accidents – The Law in All 50 States Can you recover compensation if you were partially at fault in a car accident? Here are the laws in all 50 states. In order to fully recover your losses after a car accident, you need to be able to prove that...
What are the steps to take after a car accident in order to ensure a fair settlement? The list is longer than most people think. While you may be focused on getting your car repaired and taking care of your medical bills, you could be entitled to far more, and you...
After a car accident, almost everything you do can impact the outcome of your insurance claim. From when you see a doctor to how closely you follow your doctor’s advice, and from when you return to work to what you do in your spare time (both in the real world and on...
Even at low speeds, car accidents can cause serious injuries. No matter how fast you are traveling, a car accident is a traumatic event and can cause serious and lasting injuries to both person and property. In addition to causing stress and anxiety, even low-speed...