Currently there are 12 states which are considered “no fault”. This means that in the event of a car accident, each driver’s insurance company would cover their own client’s medical expenses, lost income, and so on. This is different from most states in that in the other 38 states, the driver found to be at fault is responsible for the other persons damages.

The current No Fault states for car accidents are:

  • Hawaii
  • Utah
  • North Dakota
  • Minnesota
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Kentucky
  • Pennsylvania
  • Florida
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Massachusetts