Lawsuit Info Center / Car Accident Settlement Guide / Rhode Island Car Accident Settlement Guide

Rhode Island Car Accident Settlement Guide

Rhode Island Car Accident Claims 

Rhode Island is a small state with a big car accident problem. With over 750,000 drivers and an average of 7,500 miles driven annually, there are plenty of opportunities for accidents to occur. In 2020, there were over 20,000 car accidents in the state, resulting in over 1,000 injuries and 50 car accident deaths.

Car Accident Settlement
Rhode Island Auto Accident Laws

From Pawtucket to Woonsocket to Newport, you can find thousands of miles of roads to explore in Rhode Island. You can go from Narragansett Bay to Jerimoth Hill, and they are used by 750,000 drivers in the state, who drive an average of 7500 miles per year. In that amount of traveling, these drivers are involved in plenty of serious auto accidents each year. Many of them result in serious injury and death. Wherever you drive in this state, it is important to carry enough auto insurance to handle any auto accident you are in. It also is critical to know the driving rules and legal underpinnings of personal injury and liability in Rhode Island, so you know what to do if you are in an accident.

How Much Are Most Rhode Island Car Accident Settlements?

The average car accident settlement in Rhode Island is around $24,000. However, the amount of a settlement can vary depending on several factors, including the severity of the injuries, the amount of medical expenses, and the other driver’s fault.

Here are some factors that can affect the amount of a car accident settlement in Rhode Island:

  • The severity of the injuries: The more severe the injuries, the higher the settlement amount. This is because more severe injuries will require more medical treatment and will result in more lost wages.For this reason, things like motorcycle and semi truck accident settlements tend to be the highest on average. 
  • Medical expenses: The amount of medical expenses the victim incurs will also affect the settlement amount. The victim will seek compensation for their medical expenses and pain and suffering.
  • The fault of the other driver: If the other driver is found to be at fault for the accident, the victim is more likely to receive a higher settlement amount. This is because the other driver’s insurance company will be responsible for paying the settlement.
  • Negotiation skills of the lawyer: The lawyer representing the victim can also affect the settlement amount. A lawyer experienced in negotiating car accident settlements will be more likely to get a higher settlement for their client.

It is important to note that there is no such thing as a “typical” car accident settlement in Rhode Island. The amount of a settlement will vary depending on the specific facts of each case. However, the average settlement amount of $24,000 can give you a general idea of what to expect.

How to Get a Fair Car Accident Settlement in Rhode Island

Getting a fair car accident settlement in Rhode Island can be daunting. You may be dealing with injuries, medical bills, and lost wages and may not know where to start. Here are some tips to help you get the compensation you deserve:

  1. Get medical attention right away. This is essential for your health and well-being, but it also helps to document your injuries. Your medical records will be used to prove the extent of your injuries and the cost of your treatment.
  2. Save all of your medical bills. This includes doctor’s visits, hospital stays, prescription medication, and any other expenses related to your injuries.
  3. Report the accident to the police. This is important even if the accident seems minor. The police report will create a record of the accident, which will be helpful if you need to file a claim.
  4. Get the other driver’s insurance information. This includes their name, address, insurance company, and policy number. You will need this information to file a claim with their insurance company.
  5. Hire an experienced car accident lawyer. A lawyer can help you understand your legal rights and options, and can negotiate a fair settlement on your behalf.

In addition to these tips, there are a few other things you can do to increase your chances of getting a fair car accident settlement:

  • Negotiate. The insurance company will likely offer you a settlement that is lower than what you deserve. Be prepared to negotiate with them to get a higher settlement. Also remember to give yourself ample time to properly negotiate and file a car accident lawsuit if need be.
  • Document everything. Keep track of all of your medical records, bills, and other expenses. This will help you to prove the extent of your injuries and the cost of your damages.
  • Stay calm and professional. It can be frustrating to deal with the insurance company, but it is important to stay calm and professional. This will help you to get the best possible outcome.

Getting a fair car accident settlement can be challenging, but it is important to remember that you have rights. By following these tips, you can increase your chances of getting the compensation you deserve.

Car Accident Lawsuit

Rhode Island Car Accident Settlements & Statistics

  • In 2021, there were 15,758 motor vehicle crashes in Rhode Island, resulting in 66 fatalities and 3,058 serious injuries.
  • The state’s fatality rate of 0.872 per 100,000 people is lower than the national average of 0.890.
  • The most common causes of car accidents in Rhode Island are speeding, distracted driving, and impaired driving.
  • The most dangerous roads in Rhode Island are Route 1, Route 95, and Route 295.
  • The most dangerous times to drive in Rhode Island are Friday and Saturday nights and during the holiday season.
  • Teen drivers are at a higher risk of being involved in a fatal car accident. In 2021, teen drivers accounted for 10% of all fatal car accidents in Rhode Island.
  • Motorcyclists are also at a higher risk of being involved in a fatal car accident. In 2021, motorcyclists accounted for 15% of all fatal car accidents in Rhode Island.

More Statistics and Notable Car Accident Lawsuits in Rhode Island

Recent media reports suggest deadly crashes were on the rise in Rhode Island in 2017. RIDOT statistics at the end of 2017 showed that 61 people were killed in such accidents through the end of September 2017. That was a 50% increase from 2016 when 41 people died over the same span of time. Of the deaths that happened in 2017, approximately 25% were hit by vehicles. Others who were killed were drivers, bicyclists, passengers and motorcyclists.

Experts in the state in public safety say driver distraction through the use of cell phones and other electronic devices is a major concern on the roads of Rhode Island. Also, a recent review of news stories in the state found that many crashes for 2017 involved excessive speed, aggressive driving and alcohol.

Other statistics online state that 131 pedestrians died in car accidents in Rhode Island from 2003 to 2013. Most of the people who were killed were white men from 45 to 54. But most of the pedestrian fatalities were 75 years old. The top towns for pedestrian deaths were Providence, Cranston and Warwick.

Another recent report indicated that 38% of deaths on the roads in the state in recent years are from drunk driving. This has been rather embarrassing for state officials here because the national average for impaired driving accidents is 31%. However, the percentage of alcohol related crashes in the state did drop by 4% from 2010 to 2011.

Another problem in this state is motorcycle accident fatalities. It was determined in 2013 that there was a 38% increase in these accidents from 2012 to 2013. Also, unhelmeted deaths increased by 20%. However, Rhode Island does not have a universal helmet law at this time.

A deadly Rhode Island crash that received attention in 2017 was a crash that killed an unlicensed 16-year-old who spun out on Route 95 in Warwick. Also, a man from New York City was hit in a road rage incident on Route 295 and three female passengers died when a car hit a telephone pole in Pawtucket. Plus, a 19-year-old pedestrian was hit by a pickup truck in Coventry.

Another major accident in Rhode Island that may result in a personal injury lawsuit involved a Warwick man who was involved in a hit and run in February 2018. The 58 year old man named James Pinel was arrested and was charged with one count of duty to stop, accident resulting in personal injury and death. The police noted that accidents are accidents in the state, but when you leave the scene, you are committing a crime.

Police said the man struck a 31 year old pedestrian on Post Road near Walmart just before 9 PM on Feb. 16. The vehicle was a gray Acura SUV, which is a rare vehicle in this small state. While the man was not in a cross walk at the time, the driver still was required to stop and render aid under state law. The man who was struck was taken to a local hospital and now is in stable condition. Pinel was placed under arrest and was released on a bond of $2000. He will be back in court in March 2018.

  • Rhode Island Car Accident Settlement Calculator:

    Have you been involved in a motor vehicle accident or otherwise injured in Rhode Island? Find out how much financial compensation you may be legally entitled to in just minutes with our free online Car Accident Settlement Calculator.

    Rhode Island Car Accident Laws

    Auto Insurance Requirements in Rhode Island

    This state requires you to have a minimum level of car insurance. If you do not have enough auto insurance, you can receive severe penalties, including jail time and monetary fines. Under the tort system of Rhode Island, you could be held liable for damages in a car accident. These include medical costs, property damage, economic damages and physical and mental pain and suffering.

    The minimum level of auto insurance you are required to have in this state is:

    • $25,000 in bodily injury for each person per accident
    • $50,000 in bodily injury for all parties in an accident
    • $25,000 in property damage liability
    • $25,000 and $50,000 uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage
    • $25,000 in uninsured motorist property damage
    • $3000 for medical payments coverage

    You can reject the uninsured motorist property damage and medical coverage if you do wish not purchase them. You also do not have to carry additional coverage in Rhode Island, such as personal liability insurance or comprehensive and collision coverage.

    Legal experts in Rhode Island recommend that people with more assets should probably carry more insurance coverage. You can be held liable for another person’s injuries in this state if you are in a serious accident. This state has a comparative negligence standard, as noted below, so even if you have injuries yourself, you still could be sued in legal action if you shared responsibility for the accident.

    Rhode Island Accident Settlement Taxes

    Were you injured because of another party’s negligence? Then you may be entitled to a personal injury settlement. If you receive a settlement, be aware that some parts of it can be taxed as income.

    The IRS states that most compensation related to a physical injury or illness is not taxable as income. But if you receive compensation only for mental anguish and pain and suffering unrelated to a physical injury, this is taxable as income.

    If you receive any money for punitive damages intended to punish the defendant, these are taxable as income because they were not for any damage you suffered.

    In Rhode Island, lost wages compensation is taxable as income because you would have been taxed on that income if you had worked.

    Negligence Laws in Rhode Island

    Rhode Island car accident victims have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover damages for their personal injuries. However, you should know this state has a comparative negligence standard. This means that if you are partially responsible for the car accident that caused your injuries, your potential award in a lawsuit will be reduced by a percentage representing your degree of fault.

    For example, if you have $10,000 of personal injury damages awarded and you were 25% responsible for the accident, you will receive only $7500 for your injuries at the end of the case. This is an important part of any personal injury case in Rhode Island. You are only entitled to 100% of the damages you are awarded if the other driver is 100% responsible for the accident.

    Car Accident Statute of Limitations in Rhode Island

    This state has a statute of limitations for auto accident claims. It is three years from the date of the accident. Also, if you have property damage, your claim must be filed within 10 years.

    There is no cap on personal injury damages in the state, but if there is a claim against the state, the limit is $100,000.

    Other Rhode Island Driving Laws

    Here are some driving laws that you should be aware of in Rhode Island:

    • New drivers cannot use cell phones at all.
    • All drivers are prohibited from texting and driving.
    • Seatbelts are mandatory; you can be pulled over for not wearing one.
    • Using a handheld device while driving is illegal unless you use a hands-free device.

    The fine for violating these laws is up to $100. However, first-time offenders can avoid the fine if they can show proof of having bought a hands-free accessory for their phone. Public safety personnel and emergencies are exempt from these laws.

    Rhode Island Car Accident Resources

    If you’ve been in a car accident in Rhode Island, here are some resources that can help:

    • Lawsuit Info Center: This website can help you find a good personal injury attorney and understand your claim’s value. This free website is made to help drivers in all US states to find a good personal injury attorney in their area. There is also a free settlement calculator to help you estimate your claim’s worth.
    • Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles: This website has information about filing a car accident report and getting a copy of your accident report.
    • Rhode Island Bar Association: This website has a list of lawyers who specialize in personal injury law. This is a good place to start when searching for a lawyer to represent you. Ensure your lawyer is duly licensed to practice in Rhode Island.
    • Rhode Island Insurance Department: This website has information about your rights under Rhode Island’s insurance laws.
    • The Rhode Island State Police: This website has information about traffic laws, reporting a car accident, and filing an insurance claim. You can also find links to the highway patrol and other state agencies that may have more information.

    These resources can help you understand the laws and regulations that apply if you have been in a car accident in Rhode Island. If you were in a car accident in Rhode Island, you must ensure that you have filed the car accident form for any car accident in the state. If the police responded to the crash, they filed the form for you. If not, you can get a copy of the form here.

Car Accident Settlement

Related Articles

Whiplash Payout Scale for Grades 0-4

Whiplash is common in car accidents, especially rear-end collisions. Your head and neck are forcefully jerked back and forward by the rapid acceleration-deceleration combination, causing injury to the head, neck, and shoulders. Each auto accident is...

How Long Does a Car Accident Settlement Take?

Involvement in a traffic collision creates a difficult situation, which can be made worse by injuries and property damage. You may be legally entitled to monetary compensation. How long does a car accident settlement take? The answer is different for everyone, but...