Lawsuit Info Center / Car Accident Settlement Guide / Connecticut Car Accident Settlements

Connecticut Car Accident Settlements

Connecticut Car Accident Settlement Guide

Being involved in a car accident can be a traumatic and stressful experience for most people. Dealing with the physical injuries, property damage, financial impact and medical bills that arise from an accident can be overwhelming for many people. Fortunately, Connecticut has established laws to help victims of car accidents pursue justice and fair compensation, usually by collecting a car accident settlement from the at fault driver’s insurance.

Car Accident Settlement

After becoming hurt in a Connecticut car accident, it can be hard to know what to do. In this article, we’ll discuss what is involved in a typical settlement process for a car accident in Connecticut, including what kind of compensation may be available, common challenges that come up during negotiations, and how to maximize your chances of receiving a fair Connecticut car accident settlement.

For example, you’ll know about accident liability in Connecticut, how to deal with insurance companies, law enforcement, and more to help ensure you get a fair car accident settlement. 

Can you get compensation for a car accident in Connecticut?

The answer is yes, you can get compensation for a car accident in Connecticut. Under the state’s “fault” insurance system, those found to be at fault in an accident are responsible for compensating everyone injured, including other drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and cyclists. The compensation amount depends on the accident’s severity and the extent of any injuries or property damage suffered by the victim.

As part of any car accident settlement in Connecticut, insurance companies typically pay for medical bills, lost wages, and even repairs for car damage. In some cases, compensation may also cover pain and suffering damages, typically expressed as a multiple between 1-5 of all the other damages combined value, with the higher multiples being assigned to more severe injuries. For example, let’s say your medical bills were $5000, lost income was $2000 and it cost another $2000 to fix your car. While the damages you can prove would only be $9,000, if you could prove that the injuries caused pain & suffering to the point that you couldn’t perform normal day to day tasks like playing with your kids, training for an upcoming marathon, etc, you might be assigned a multiple of 2 or 3 on top of this, bringing your car accident settlement total to $18,000-$27,000. So as you can see, being able to prove pain & suffering in a Connecticut car accident claim could be worth a lot of money in your final settlement offer. 

It is important to note that you must prove your case to receive fair compensation—this means providing evidence of the at-fault driver’s negligence and showing how it caused or contributed to your accident.

What Compensation is Included in a Connecticut Car Accident Settlement?

If you’ve been injured in a car accident in Connecticut, you may be entitled to significant compensation for your losses including medical bills, loss of income, property damage and pain & suffering. Under the state’s ‘at fault’ insurance system, those at fault can be held financially liable for covering medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and even pain and suffering damages. Depending on the severity of the accident and the extent of any injuries or property damage suffered by the victim, compensation can range from $3,000 to well over $1,000,000. However, it is important to remember that this is not a fixed amount and has a lot to do with what you can prove in terms of fault and damages. 

To increase your chance of receiving a fair and just car accident settlement in Connecticut, it is important to prove your case with evidence that shows how another driver’s negligence caused or contributed to your injury.

It is important to seek the advice of a lawyer experienced in car accident claims and personal injury law to fully explore your legal options after a car accident and ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.

What is the average settlement for a car accident in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, car accident settlements can vary widely, depending on the type of damages and injuries involved. Generally, car accident settlements are higher when there are increased medical costs or lost wages due to pain and suffering. In 2020, the average bodily injury claim for a car accident settlement in Connecticut was around $20,000; however, this varies depending on the peculiarity of the situation.

How is pain & suffering calculated in a car accident claim in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, there are two primary methods used to calculate pain and suffering-related damages in a car accident: the “multiplier” method or the “per diem” method.

With the ‘multiplier’ method, economic damages are calculated and multiplied by a number between one and five, depending on the severity of the injury. For example, suppose someone suffers a broken arm in a car accident, and the total economic damage for that broken arm is $2,000; that number may be multiplied by a number between one and five and then added to the initial $2,000. This is the total settlement they receive.

The pain and suffering cost is calculated daily in the ‘per Diem’ method. A sum of money is assigned to the victim from the date of the accident till they reach maximum recovery. However, insurance companies typically use the multiple method for calculating pain & suffering claims in car accidents. 

What factors influence the value of my car accident settlement in Connecticut? 

In Connecticut, car accident settlements can vary widely depending on several factors. These factors include:

  • The severity of the car accident: the greater the severity, the more the settlement payout because injuries may require prolonged medical attention.
  • The type and degree of injuries suffered.
  • Pain and suffering
  • Lost wages due to downtime while recovering
  • The policy of insurance companies and the limits of their payout
  • The strength of the case: if you have enough evidence to support your claim. This is why documentation is crucial. You need to have records of the accident, medical bills, and other costs.

Connecticut Car Accident Settlement Example:

A woman and her son were hit by a drunk driver. She sustained multiple facial scars from the accident and was awarded $100,000 in settlement. Another 77-year-old woman suffered a torn rotator cuff from a car accident where she was hit as a passenger in another vehicle. She received $82,000 in settlement. It is easy to see that the settlement amount varies for each situation.

Car accident settlements for a head injury can be significantly higher as these injuries may require more medical attention and a longer recovery time. 

Car accident settlements involving lost wages due to pain and suffering are likely more significant than those without such damages. Ultimately, the amount of your car accident settlement depends on the unique facts of your case. 

Car Accident Lawsuit

How long does a car accident claim take to settle in Connecticut?

In Connecticut, settling your car accident claim can take anywhere from one month to three years. Usually, out-of-court settlements take less than a year, with some very simple settlements taking only weeks. However, with litigation, it may take 2-3 years.

It is important to note that once a car accident claim settles, it cannot be reversed or undone.

Challenges faced during car settlement negotiations in Connecticut

Insurance companies may limit liability by offering a lowball settlement or denying your claim altogether. Other challenges you may face include dealing with the statute of limitations and proving damages beyond medical bills. 

Maximizing your chances of receiving fair compensation

To maximize your chances of receiving fair compensation, taking the proper steps following an accident is essential.

At the scene of the crash, make sure to take lots of pictures (of the vehicles involved, road conditions, etc) and get contact info for any drivers involved in the crash as well as any witnesses that may have seen what happened. Call the police and be sure they file an accurate accident report so you have an official record of the crash and circumstances leading up to it. 

After the accident is cleaned up, seek medical attention immediately; this can help prove that the accident caused your injuries, not pre-existing conditions.

Also, be sure to document all injuries and property damage as soon as possible; this will help you make a stronger case for your claim.

Connecticut Auto Accidents Laws: Comparative Negligence

When you are in a car accident in Connecticut, it is important to determine who is liable for the incident. Ultimately, whoever is liable will be responsible for paying for the injuries and damages for the crash.

Connecticut follows a comparative negligence standard for liability for car accidents. This means that your settlement will reduce based on the percentage of fault you have for the accident. And you cannot recover damages if your percentage of fault for the incident is more than 50%.

For example, say you are rear ended when you are turning right into a parking lot. You have $20,000 in property damages and injuries. But you didn’t turn your turn signal on when you turned, so the insurance company says you are 25% responsible for the accident. This means your settlement will be reduced by $5,000.

Obviously, determining who is at fault and to what degree is a critical part of the case. That’s why you should hire an experienced car accident attorney in Connecticut to negotiate on your behalf.

If you are found more than 50% at fault, you cannot receive compensation, so it’s vital that your lawyer argue aggressively in your favor.

Connecticut Auto Insurance Rules

All states require drivers on public roads to have auto insurance. Additionally, Connecticut has laws that require drivers to have liability and uninsured/underinsured insurance. Also, drivers must have proof of insurance that you must show if the police request it. The minimum insurance amounts for this state are:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • Coverage of $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Also, you are required to carry underinsured and uninsured insurance in Connecticut. This protects you if another person hits you in an accident and doesn’t have insurance. You can then use your own policy to pay for your damages and injuries.

If your damages exceed your coverage, you can file a car accident lawsuit against the other driver to recover the rest.

It’s recommended to carry more than the minimum amount of liability and UM insurance if you have a lot of assets. This will protect you if you are in an accident caused by another party.

Driving without insurance in this state can get you a fine of $100 to $1,000, as well as a one-month license suspension.

Connecticut Auto Accident Laws: Statute of Limitations

Like all states, Connecticut has a statute of limitations for when someone injured in a car accident can file a personal injury lawsuit. In this state, you must file your lawsuit within two years of the date of the accident. The deadline is the same whether you are filing suit for injuries or property damage.

If the accident resulted in death, you have two years from the date of the person’s death to file a lawsuit.

Importantly, you should retain a Connecticut personal injury attorney promptly after your accident. This is to ensure there is enough time for a case to be put together before the time limit expires.

Note that you should file your accident claim with the proper insurance company as soon as you can, but these time limits mentioned above do not apply.

If you are injured by a government employee during their work time, you have only a year to file your lawsuit. So, it’s even more important if a government employee is involved to get your case filed on time.

Reporting A Car Accident In Connecticut

All auto accidents in Connecticut should be reported to the police promptly, even if it’s a minor accident. After you have contacted the police, you should exchange contact and insurance information with the other drivers involved.

Car Accident Lawsuit

If police do not show up at the accident scene, you should go to the nearest police station to report the accident. Ask them to write a police report and describe exactly what happened. This information can be critical to prove who was responsible for the accident.

You have five days after the accident to file a police report. If you don’t, the other driver could accuse you of hit and run, and that can cause you serious problems if you want to file a claim for damages later.

After the accident, you should take the time to take pictures of the accident scene, the damages for each vehicle, their positions on the road, any injuries, and the license plate for each vehicle. The police may not do a full police report. So, the more information you have to show how the accident happened, the more likely you are to prevail when you file a claim.

If you need to obtain a copy of your auto accident report, you can find out more on the Connecticut state’s website.

Connecticut Dram Shop Law

Usually, when someone injures someone else, the injured party can file a personal injury lawsuit against the person who caused the injuries. But states that have a Dram Shop law allow, in some cases, for the injured party to file a lawsuit against a social host or business that provided alcohol to an intoxicated person who then caused the car accident.

The Dram Shop law in Connecticut states that you can sue a person who provided alcohol to the person who caused the accident if they were visibly or perceivably intoxicated when they bought the alcohol. Also, the intoxication needs to be the cause of your injuries.

For example, if a bartender provides beer to a patron who witnesses say was visibly intoxicated and that person causes an accident that injures you, it is possible to file a lawsuit against the bar.

However, under this state’s Dram Shop law, you cannot file a lawsuit against a social host that provides alcohol to the person who injured you. But it is a misdemeanor for social hosts to provide alcohol to anyone under 21. If that happens and the person injures you, it’s possible to file a lawsuit against the social host.

In a Dram Shop case in this state, you may expect some or all of the following damages:

  • Medical and rehabilitation bills
  • Lost earnings
  • Lost or damaged property
  • Pain and suffering

Note that the total damages in a Dram Shop case in Connecticut cannot exceed $250,000.

Connecticut Accident Settlement Taxes

In Connecticut, most of the compensation you get in a personal injury settlement is free from state income tax. As long as your tort is for personal, physical injury, not a legal injury such as discrimination or reputational injury, most funds are nontaxable. This includes medical costs and pain and suffering. Regarding this, the IRS states that if you receive a personal injury settlement for physical injuries and you did not opt for an itemized deduction for medical expenses associated with the injury the year before, the full amount is not subject to tax.

However, in Connecticut, some aspects of a personal injury settlement could be taxable in these cases:

  • Lost earnings: If you obtain damages for your lost wages, then that part of your settlement is taxable because it is a replacement for income that would have been taxed.
  • Pain and suffering pertaining to wrongful death: If you get damages for pain and suffering in a wrongful death claim, that portion is taxable.
  • Emotional injury: If the settlement is for an emotional injury, the settlement can be taxed.
  • Punitive damages: This is awarded to the victim to punish the person who did wrong. This type of damages do not reimburse you for actual damage or harm. It is extra income to you and is taxable.

Confidential settlement: If you get a confidential settlement, it may be subject to taxes at the state and federal levels; check with your CPA.

Connecticut Car Accident Settlement Calculator:

Have you been involved in a motor vehicle accident or otherwise injured in Connecticut? Find out how much financial compensation you may be legally entitled to in just minutes with our free online car accident settlement calculator.

Get Legal Help With Connecticut Auto Accident Laws

If you are in a car crash, it is highly upsetting and stressful. But you will be more prepared after digesting all the information on this page about Connecticut auto accident laws.

Please remember, if you are in a Connecticut car accident, stay at the crash scene until law enforcement arrives, and always seek medical attention immediately. You also should get in touch with your auto insurance company as soon as possible, and hire an attorney unless it is a minor accident without injuries.

If you do get in a crash in Connecticut, you may be eligible for compensation for your medical bills, pain and suffering, and lost earnings. Remember to document and keep records of everything, and take advantage of the free consultations offered by Connecticut car accident lawyers to find out what your case is really worth. 

Car Accident Settlement

Related Articles

Above Average Car Accident Settlements

What Percentage of Car Accidents Settle for More Than the Victim’s Actual Damages? Car accidents are, unfortunately, a part of life. In the United States, a crash occurs every 6 minutes. Many of these accidents result in injuries and death. In 2020, 4.8 million people...

What's the max you can get?Get a fast, free estimate!