Virginia Auto Accident Laws
We’re about to tell you everything you ever wanted to know and more if you were in a car accident in Virginia. You’ll learn what you need to do after your accident and what the average settlement is for a car accident Virginia.
How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit After My Car Accident?
After you’ve regained your composure after your car accident, you will want to reach out to a lawyer. In Virginia statute of limitations determines that you only have 2 years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury but five years to file a lawsuit for property damages. These two years go by faster than you expect so it we recommend you get the ball rolling as quickly as possible.
The one exception to this is if your accident involved any type of government vehicle. In this case the laws are different but you will need to file quickly in this case, often within 90 days of your accident.
Virginia and the Contributory Negligence Rule
If you’ve been hurt in an accident Virginia, the law determining your compensation is called “contributory negligence.” What this means is that if the party is even 1% at fault they are at risk for not receiving any compensation for damages. This is the strictest determination of fault method in the country. Most states have rules that are much more lax than Virginia in this regard.
If you have any questions that you are looking for further details, please visit Virginia’s Department of Transportation website here.
What’s The Average Settlement For A Car Accident In Virginia?
If you’d like to see how much your accident settlement may be worth, please fill out this form and a Virginia car accident attorney will reach you shortly.