After you’ve been involved in an accident, it can be a stressful situation. Not only are you dealing with a damaged vehicle, but it’s possible you’ve sustained injuries as well. It is important to file a car insurance claim immediately to ensure you are provided with compensation for the damages. The thought of waiting for insurance companies to complete your claim may seem like a headache but the reality is most organizations have a target date within 30 days to pay your claim. Although most claims can be settled within those 30 days, some States have laws that require insurance companies to complete the process in a certain length of time, which may be shorter or longer than 30 days.
- California insurance companies must take action within 15 days and accept or deny the claim within 40 days after collecting proof. Once the claim is accepted, payment from the insurance company must be made within 30 days.
- New Jersey insurance companies must pay their insured party within 60 days of receiving proof.
- Texas insurance companies must pay their insured party within 15 days after receiving proof however; they have the option to file an extension of up to 45 days.