Iowa Auto Accident Laws
We’re about to tell you everything you ever wanted to know and more if you were in a car accident in Iowa. You’ll learn what you need to do after your accident and what the average settlement is for a car accident Iowa.
How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit After My Car Accident?
After you’ve regained your composure after your car accident, you will want to reach out to a lawyer. In Iowa statute of limitations is the law that determines how long you have to file a lawsuit. It states that you have 2 years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury but you have 5 years to file a lawsuit for property damages. These time frames only effect court cases and not insurance filings.
The one exception to this is if your accident involved any type of government vehicle. In this case the laws are different but you will need to file quickly in this case, often within 90 days of your accident.
Comparative Fault Rules In Iowa
If you’ve been hurt in an accident Iowa, the law determining your compensation takes into account what percentage at fault you are in the accident to determine the amount you will receive in your settlement. Let’s look at an example:
Let’s assume you are in a car accident in Des Moines and the total damages (missed work, property damage, medical bills) add up to $50,000. The jury determines that you are 20% at fault for the accident. You would then receive $40,000, 20% less than the $50,000 based on your fault percentage. The only time this isn’t true is if you are more than 50% at fault you will not be able to collect any damages.
If you have any questions that you are looking for further details, please visit Iowa’s Department of Transportation website here.
What’s The Average Settlement For A Car Accident In Iowa?
If you’d like to see how much your accident settlement may be worth, please fill out this form and a Iowa car accident attorney will reach you shortly.