Alabama Auto Accident Laws
We’re about to tell you everything you ever wanted to know and more if you were in a car accident in Alabama. You’ll learn what you need to do after your accident and what the average settlement is for a car accident Alabama.
How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit After My Car Accident?
After you’ve regained your composure after your car accident, you will want to reach out to a lawyer. In Alabama statute of limitations is the law that determines how long you have to file a lawsuit. It determines that in Alabama you have only 2 years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury or property damages. These time frames only effect court cases and not insurance filings. This is a very short time frame so you will want to get this process started as quickly as you can.
The one exception to this is if your accident involved any type of government vehicle. In this case the laws are different but you will need to file quickly in this case, often within 90 days of your accident.
Comparative Fault Rules In Alabama
If you’ve been hurt in an accident Alabama, the law determining your compensation takes into account any fault that you have had which will often disqualify you from receiving any settlement. This is unique in that most states allow for you to collect if you were only partially at fault but not so in Alabama.
If you have any questions that you are looking for further details, please visit Alabama’s Department of Transportation website here.
What’s The Average Settlement For A Car Accident In Alabama?
If you’d like to see how much your accident settlement may be worth, please fill out this form and a Alabama car accident attorney will reach you shortly.