Wyoming Car Accident Laws
We’re about to tell you everything you ever wanted to know and more if you were in a car accident in Wyoming. You’ll learn what you need to do after your accident and what the average settlement is for a car accident Wyoming.
How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit After My Car Accident?
After you’ve regained your composure after your car accident, you have time but will want to reach out to a lawyer earlier rather than later. Wyoming is actually one of the states that give more time than most others as you will have 4 years from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit. This is the same whether you are seeking damages for personal injury or property damage.
The one exception to this is if your accident involved any type of government vehicle. In this case the laws are different but you will need to file quickly in this case, often within 90 days of your accident.
Comparative Fault Rules In Wyoming
If you’ve been hurt in an accident Wyoming operates by a rule called “comparative fault.” What this means is that each driver will be deemed a certain percentage at fault for an accident and paid out accordingly. Let’s look at an example.
Assume you are in an accident and between injury, lost wages and medical bills the total is $50,000. If the jury after looking at the evidence determines that the other drive is 80% at fault you would get $40,000 which is 80% of the total $50,000 number. If you are deemed to be more than 50% at fault you will automatically not be eligible for any settlement.
If you have any questions that you are looking for further details, please visit Wyoming’s Department of Transportation website here
What’s The Average Settlement For A Car Accident In Wyoming?
If you’d like to see how much your accident settlement may be worth, please fill out this form and a Wyoming attorney will reach you shortly.