Texas Auto Accident Laws 2017-07-14T16:56:39+00:00

Texas Auto Accident Laws

We’re about to tell you everything you ever wanted to know and more if you were in a car accident in Texas.  You’ll learn what you need to do after your accident and what the average settlement is for a car accident Texas.

How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit After My Car Accident?

After you’ve regained your composure after your car accident, you will want to reach out to a lawyer.  In Texas statute of limitations determines that you only have 2 years  from the date of your car accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury or property damages.  These two years go by faster than you expect so it we recommend you get the ball rolling as quickly as possible.

The one exception to this is if your accident involved any type of government vehicle.  In this case the laws are different but you will need to file quickly in this case, often within 90 days of your accident.

Modified Comparative Fault Rules In Texas

If you’ve been hurt in an accident Texas, the law determining your compensation takes into account what percentage at fault you are in the accident to determine the amount you will receive in your settlement.  Let’s look at an example:

So you are in a car accident where total damages(missed work, property damage, medical bills) add up to $100,000.  The jury determines that you are 10% at fault for the accident.  You would then receive $90,000, 10% less than the $100,000 based on your fault percentage.

If you have any questions that you are looking for further details, please visit Texas’s Department of Transportation website here.

What’s The Average Settlement For A Car Accident In Texas?

If you’d like to see how much your accident settlement may be worth, please fill out this form and a Texas car accident attorney will reach you shortly.